Home / NEWS / #APCOndoPrimaries of Cash and Carry Throws up Aketi

#APCOndoPrimaries of Cash and Carry Throws up Aketi

Rotimi Akeredolu (SAN) has emerged the governorship candidate of the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo State.

Akeredolu polled 669 votes to defeat his closest rival and Chief Bola Tinubu’s anointed candidate, Dr Olusegun Abraham who polled 635 votes.

The primary election which lasted over 12 hours was held amidst tight security at the International Cultural and Event Centre (The Dome) in Akure, the state capital.

It would be recalled that, Rotimi Akeredolu had earlier challenged Chief Bola Tinubu on an Adaba Fm radio programme of a surprising victory over his anointed candidate in the election.

While announcing the results of the election, Governor of Jigawa State, Mohammed Badaru Abubakar, who is also the Chairman primary election committee of the party that monitored the exercise, described the conduct of the APC primary election producing a candidate for the opposition party in the state as transparent and credible. 

However, It was gathered that, there were sporadic gunshots during the election over an alleged injection of aliens into the delegates’ list.

OndoTv learnt other members of the APC Primary Election Committee include: Dr. Bruce Ugbide, Rep. Hamma Ali, Prince M. Martin, and Mr Mohammed Lawal.

Mr. Abubakar, however, asked the unsuccessful aspirants in the election to pacify their supporters to join hands with Rotimi Akeredolu in order to win the November 26 governorship election in the state.

According to our reporter who monitored the election, the primary election, which started with the accreditation of voters, took off at exactly 7:00am and the three accreditation venues for delegates across the three senatorial districts and was duly monitored by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) led by Mr. Kabiru Omosanya.

Also, the combined teams of the security task force which comprises the Army, Police, NSCDC, and DSS monitored the primary election as it went into late Saturday evening.

Twenty-four aspirants jostled for the governorship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the primary election held on Saturday.

Tunji Abayomi polled 5 votes, Ademola Adegoroye polled 0 votes, Derin Adesida polled 2 votes, Akinyinka Akinola polled 1 vote, Patrick Akinyelure, Omotayo Alasoadura,Jumoke Anifowoshe-Ajasin polled 1 vote,Jamiu Ekungba polled 44 votes, Niran Oladunnni polled votes,

Others include: Oke Olusola polled 576 votes, Olabimtan Victor polled 18 votes, Boye Oyewunmi polled 7 votes, Ajayi Borrofice polled 471 votes, Tayo Alasoadura polled 206 votes;  Bode Ayorinde polled 67 votes, Akinwale Akingbade polled 3 votes, Akinrinsola Odunayo polled 2 votes, Bukola Adetula polled 8 votes; Niyi Adegbonmire polled 8 votes; Foluso Adefemi polled 13 votes, Akinola Olayinka polled 1 vote; Tunji Ariyo polled 3 votes.


About ondotv

Check Also


Mimiko to speak in Washington on Tuesday 

The immediate past Governor of Ondo state, Dr Olusegun Mimiko will be delivering a keynote …

One comment

  1. Arc Dr Ilesanmi O. S.

    Hun, it is unilaterally accepted to conduct this election, at least one expected to win, any grumble might be sighted from the angle of selfishness and self centered. No objection raised throughout the election time, therefore the winner emerged. Akeredolu Oluwarotimi is the qualified candidate to represent the party. All must rally round him for a success, else there effort could be grounded. I don’t pray for it. Congratulations to the winner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *